blade trashing

Squawsach

At what point should a knifemaker stop trashing blades when grinding them. I just came in from the garage after trashing a blade on the grinder. It's a little off. I can fix that. Oh crap! I'm kinda new to knife making and I don't trash as many blades as I once did but at some point this blade trashing needs to stop. Does it ever stop and if so when?

Good question. I have no answer, because I've ground a bucket-full of blades I trashed, and only a few that were good enough to sell. *shrug*

I came inside, cooled down a little, and decided to try again on another profiled blade. I trashed it. Two blades in one day. That's a new record for me. I'm going to take up knitting. Anybody need a scarf or sweater?

Can you knit a sweater for a goofed-up blade? :D

Hang in there bro. Mistakes are just lessons to learn.

Thanks. I know there are a few people who feel my pain. I'm tired of learning. I just want to be able to walk up to a grinder and make perfect grinds everytime. Maybe then my customers would start getting their knives on time and my blood pressure would stay normal.

For me, learning when to stop grinding was as important learning to grind. Practice and experience are the only things that will get you there and even then you will occasionally trash a blade. We all do.

Some of us develop bad habits that are hard to break. One of mine is that I tend to press pretty hard against the wheel when grinding. I have to remind myself that sometimes a light touch against the belt is needed.

Another lesson that I have learned is that if I don't "feel it", I should quit grinding and go do something else. This may only apply to me, but some days I just cannot grind worth anything. Sometimes my head just isn't in the game and all I am going to do is ruin steel and have to do it all over again. Other times it seems like the most natural thing I could be doing and the grinds just flow like butter.

Last edited: