A new request…

Kev

I have had a customer request a bushcraft knife with an accompanying ferro rod.
My question is, does it matter what steel I use for the knife itself?
I know I need a square edge to use with the rod, I’m just not sure if the type of steel matters.
thanks in advance

I'm FAR from an expert on this. That being said, I doubt it needs to be a particular alloy. Ferro rods are a lot softer than steel. If the client does a lot of striking on the rod, they may need to dress the square edge with a stone, but I consider that no different than having to sharpen the actual cutting edge. Having a slightly less than 90 degree edge, as in a negative cutting geometry (think lathe tooling) would probably help with edge retention, but it shouldn't really matter.

Nope, you just need a sharp edge that's strong enough to scrape a shard off of the rod.

I personally don't like to use the knife for two reasons. It makes it ugly. The little hot shards can stick to the blade and make little pock marks. And, more importantly, knives are meant to cut things like flesh and you really can't hold a knife by the handle and put enough pressure on the ferro rod to strike it good. So for a few bucks, you can by a really effective HSS striker that is the berries for striking a ferro rod. 8F643ACB-51CB-4439-808A-6311630EA6EE.jpeg

Tie a little piece of shock cord through the hole on the ferro rod with the striker on it like this, and then you just stick it through the ferro rod loop and hook the cord over the end of the ferro rod and it's locked in. A737BF5C-623F-4CD0-8970-7EC14626D547.jpeg

above is correct. people who will say oh. use a high carbon knife for survival -- DO NOT UNDERSTAND SURVIVAL :D

A ferro rod is mostly Lanthanides and Fe afaik?, It may have changed but will spark off anything hard enough, carbon as some people forget, is literally in everything. According to google ya its. cerium lanthanum and iron in a uhm. According to google...(don't trust it)