How to do Deer antler scales?

mxlj

I am new to knifemaking. I think i know how to make deer antler hidden tang knives. Looks pretty straight forward. But i can't find any info on how to properly make scales out of them for full tang knives and folders. What part of the antler is best for this (whitetail). How to smooth them out with out taking all of the natural 'ridges and valleys' out of them? and what else might need to be done? I may be over thinking this, but any help would be appreciated.

I am new to knifemaking. I think i know how to make deer antler hidden tang knives. Looks pretty straight forward. But i can't find any info on how to properly make scales out of them for full tang knives and folders. What part of the antler is best for this (whitetail). How to smooth them out with out taking all of the natural 'ridges and valleys' out of them? and what else might need to be done? I may be over thinking this, but any help would be appreciated.

mxlj,