Greetings from a newbie in Cape Town, South Africa

RickA

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie to knifemaking, having gotten involved about 4 months ago. I first got interested in custom knives many years ago when I was still competing in Practical Pistol shooting. Almost every gun show I ever visited had an area dedicated to custom knives and knifemakers, and I used to look at them and think, "WOW those knives are beautiful, one day I'm going to do that"

After many years of other hobbies, About 5 months ago, I decided it was time to give it a try, and I am loving every minute of it.

So far I have finished one knife, I made it following the methods described in the "Absolute Cheapskate way to start making knives" tutorial, although I couldn't find the 5160 steel and ended up buying a piece of N690 bar stock from Bohler (440c), I also decided to add a brass guard to my knife. The handles are African Ironwood. Rather than drilling and cutting with a hacksaw, I used a small angle grinder with a cutoff disk to cut the blank out, and then filed it into shape. I used draw filing to file the blade bevels, finishing them with progressively finer water paper on a sanding stick (220, 320, 400, 600, 800 and 1000 grit)

After I had the blade profiled,the bevels filed, the guard cut and filed to fit, drilled and pinned. I took the blade to Bohler for hardening in a vacuum furnace, with nitrogen quench, after which I tempered in my oven 2x 1hour at 190 deg C.

I had almost perfect bevels / plunge lines filed on the blade, but managed to mess up one side a bit when sharpening the blade with my Lansky. I used a mini buffing wheel in my hand drill (clamped to the bench to polish the blade.

Looking over one of the Work In Progress postings in the forum I am now disappointed that I didn't take photos of the various stages in construction, as it would have been nice to look back at in future.