First time ever working with leather...first 2 sheaths.

J

jstalljon

Be easy on me gents... ;) I have never worked with leather before, but since homemade fixed blade knives aren't very useful to carry without a nice pair of pants....I decided to try my hand at making leather sheaths as well.

Still some learning in this curve, but all in all I'm pleased with the results for the first two...the one on the right is not complete yet. Needs to be formed, and receive a coat of light stain.

DSC009222.JPG

DSC009211.JPG

DSC009232.JPG

Thanks to all on the forum for the pictures, tutorials, and links....extremely helpfull!

Really I think you did pretty well. Has the one on the right had a finish coat put on it yet? Also, have you burnished the edges?

Those sheaths look really good for the first time. Everything seems to be straight and even. It's hard to tell if you finished the edges. Good job.

Larry

Those look really great how did you form the one on the left. Have you ever considered using your drill pres and a small finish nail to make the stitching holes? I mark mine with a star wheel and then drill them with my drill press and a 1/2 inch piece of plywood to help keep the stitches vertical.

Thanks for the comments guys. The edges are pretty rough. I sanded them down on a belt sander, but would like a cleaner edge....what is the tool for that job, an edge beveler?

I'm just using a three, four, or single prong punch to do my holes right now...I've read about the nail and drill press method....do you guys find that easier and better looking?

I'm also going to invest in a stiching groover.

Any other feedback is appreciated.