Am I fooling myself?

Mark Barone

I'm ruining too many blades. am I fooling myself with my 1x30 and 4 x 36. Even as a beginner I can't accept an ok bevel or plunge line.
I want to perfect it. It seems like even the ceramic sanding belt wear down before I finish a bevel, the horsepower sucks and seems like that causes issues, don't get me started on leveling the table. I don't care if takes me a month but the tools seem to be holding me back. Is this what the third class passengers felt like on the Titanic.

I got my start using those same tools. I quickly bit the bullet and went for a 2x72.

IT MADE ALL THE DIFFERENCE IN THE WORLD!

If my 2x72 died today, I'd order another one within the hour.....if I wanted to keep making knives. And I'd spring for variable speed again without spending a single nanosecond thinking about it.

Its THE single most important and versatile piece of equipment in my shop. A good grinder won't magically make you a good knifemaker. You still need to have some skill and/or practice and learn how to use it. But it affords you your best opportunity to succeed.

All the natural skill in the world doesn't mean much if your tools aren't capable of allowing that skill to manifest itself or they fight you at every turn.

Uhhh.....pretty much. Honestly, 1 x 30 and 4 x 36 machines are simply not designed/built for grinding metals. They are intended for hobby level woodworkers. Even the belts produced for those machines are not intended for use on metal/steel. What you're dealing with is a "ceramic" belt designed and intended for use on wood...... that's why they seem to wear down so quickly.

Whether you choose to "upgrade" to a quality 2 x 72" machines, designed for knifemakers, is up to you, but I will state that nothing will improve your knives/grinds more rapidly then using a machine that is built/intended for the purpose.

Last edited:
a bigger grinder will make all the difference. Look into building your own by scrounging.