Wrought Iron Question

Casey Brown

So, I've really liked the looks of some of the wrought iron guards that I have seen some people use. It looks really cool when etched. However, here's my question. Do you re-forge the wrought iron before you use it for your guard. I cut a piece and started slotting it for a guard, and noticed after a lot of work, that the piece had a crack running down the middle of the piece I cut. Due to the fibrous nature of the wrought iron, I'm assuming this could always be and issue on really old pieces. Do I try to basically do a quick forge weld of the piece to make sure that it is solid, before I try using it as a guard?

I'm not an expert but it depends how refined it is to begin with. I believe there is like 3 or 4 different kinds.. The more refined it is the less cool it will look when it is etched. If I can remember correctly cool looking etched wrought iron comes from old wagon wheels, which is normally not that refined. Then there is old anchor chains that is usually so refined when you etch it you don't get that cool effect. If the stuff you have is falling apart you can refine it and forge weld it back together. Don't forge it at anything below a yellow heat or it will fall apart. Also forge welding temps are higher then mild steel.