WIP/What's wrong

Tune_up

First off, I am new to knife making. I realize I should probably make the same knife over and over until my skills are better but that would be boring. Each knife I am working on I have tried to do something new/different for me.
This knife started of as a piece of damascus (haven;t worked with) from Ironarms. When I bought it I had a big fighter in mind (largest knife attempted). I had a large piece of stag to use, first time using stag, first hidden tang. I have roughly fit the guard (first guard) and handle but I don't like the way it looks, I think the stag is to large but thought I would get input from the forum. Is it too big? How much can I shape the stag without ruining it?
http://i806.photobucket.com/albums/yy349/tune_up5/_DSC5306-copy.jpg
_DSC5306-copy.jpg

I have a couple of very nice blocks that would make a great handle and I could shape those. Also wouldn't have to use a butt cap which I'm a little concerned about. What do you think? Michae

Last edited:
Michael,
You're right, it does look a bit clunky.
Can't tell from the pic how big anything is. Unless that's a really thick walled roll, you probably won't have much more than 3/16" all around before you get into hazardous territory. Grinding down the front at the guard will make it even harder to get flow in the handle without losing the whole surface of the stag. You're better off buying tapers that can be cut/adjusted to your ricasso for more pleasing visual lines. If a roll is bigger than 1- 1/4" I'll cut it into scales. Try and get tapers that start around 3/4" at the small end and are over 5" long so there's room for adjustment.

Rudy

How about grinding off the top of the guard until it's flush with the antler? I would make the sides flush with the antler also.

- Paul Meske

Rudy, Yep, too big, 1.25x1.5" on the small end, just short of 5" long. I think I'll follow your example and cut them into scales and use them elsewhere. Now back to the planning stage.