Two upcoming refurb projects

BRad704

I am just getting into knife making, and have had a couple of guys ask me about helping with their knives... They are both older hunting knives, about 5" blades. One I am only helping to resharpen, then making a sheath... The second has got some pretty significant surface rust, and a stacked leather handle that is about to give-out.

I'm pretty excited about getting to do the work, and is it normal that I am a bit nervous about working on someone else's stuff for the first time? I am completely confident in myself and my skills, but its just the matter of it being on someone else's knives...

I will come back and put up some more pics when I get the knives in person...

This is the one that is getting sharpened and I am making a new sheath for him... I think I will take some time also to sand the blade out to a more consistent finish.
Andrew1.jpg

This is the tougher one... We are still talking about what he might want for a handle, but he only wants me to add a snap-loop back to the sheath.
Erik1.jpg

erik2.jpg

Last edited:
I still haven't gotten these two knives, BUT my mom brought me 2 that my grandfather had. One she knows for sure that he made from a band saw blade, the other, I can't tell and she doesnt remember...
8" blade on the top one
10" blade on the bottom one (that Pop made...)
2010-12-07%2010.44.15.jpg

For the two you are going to refinish, the first one should be pretty easy. If I recall corrcetly, that one has a tang bolt that will allow it to be broken down pretty quickly. The second one I wouldn't try to refinish much. If you try to get the rust pits out of that one you're not going to have much blade left. I'd scrub it down good with oil and some rough denim and call it good. Just my $0.02.

Thanks Murph.... The first one isn't getting rehandled, only sharpened and a new sheath made for it. The second is probably getting a handle, cleaning on the blade and just a new snap-loop on the sheath...