Problem with edge thickness

SHOKR

Hi all

Im new to knife making and i have trouble sticking to the edge thickness before sharpening
Translation: i mark the edge, but i either go past the lines and end up with thinner edge, or to counter that i end up not reaching the edge and with a thicker edge

How do you guys do it?

Thanks

Last edited:
thanks Warren
its not as simple as that, maybe i didnt ask teh question correctly

what steps do you take?

for example i use anything between 36-80g to establish the bevel, with 36 i need to stop way before the line i scribed, with 80 not so much, but still stop short to give bit of room to finalize with finer grit, etc.

I stop at about 0.050" with a 36g belt, then switch to a 60, clean it up, then a 120 and repeat. I am usually at about 0.030 or so at this point, ready for heat treat. Since I grind post heat treat, I stop there, but I do hand sand a bit to make sure there are no gouges I missed. If so I clean them up to prevent stress risers.

For flat and scandi: I eyeball it, not very scientifically at all...if it's possible to scientifically eyeball something. My first cuts are at a 45ish degree angle scandi grind (for flat grind also i start with this). I take it down to the center at about a dimes width. I do this evenly on both sides to end up with the final edge thickness before I begin grinding the primary bevels. This also allows me to get it straight and even before doing the brunt of the work. All with a 40 grit belt