NWG build starting

Sorry no pics haven't started yet.OK guys after all these months of reading and figuring I am going to build the NWG grinder (with welds). Any advice on any tweeks or mods to make it better then the plans. I am no engineer so keep it realistic. I am recruiting the father in law in this effort as he is handy and was a mechanic. Pics will be coming as soon as I start. Thanks to the dogs for all the great reading and learning. If you have pics of your builds or mods show them, will be greatly appreciated.Wish me luck

Hey Newbiekid! Still use my NWG almost daily for 5 years and added welds to mine as well. It works well as designed- only tip or mod I can say is to look at making it a direct drive with an AC or DC motor/variable drive combo and elliminate the belt as it can slip under heavy load. Not a real problem but just an upgrade. Enjoy your build and post those pics!
Grinder in action.jpg

You don't need all the different sizes of tubing in the plans. When I was building these grinders I used 1.5 and 1.25 11 gage tubing. In those sizes the smaller tube won't slip inside the larger because of the internal weld. That can be cured by taking an angle grinder with a cut off wheel and grind a shallow grove in the length of the smaller tube. This makes for a closer fit with out the slop of thinner tubing.

If you are going to consider making it direct drive you can avoid spending around $100.00 for those parts and apply that money to the purchase of the VFD.

Let me know if I can help you further.

Sorry to hijack this but what kind of VFD should we be looking for. My home built has a 3hp 220 single phase HF motor.

Ausbrooks thanks for the direct drive idea I think with you and the one and only wayne coe suggesting it I am sold on the idea. Thanks wayne for the tubing idea I asked and received great info, going to go with the different tubing size less slop as you say. Slatroni no worries about I hope this thread will help all.