I'm sure all of you guy's have had to deal with this, How to handle friends and Famil

A.W.Stovall

Wanting knives , I have been making knives for 4 yrs and started selling them recently and with special orders and normal stock I stay snowed under and I don't want to be rude , most are not custom knife people and look at you like your crazy when you tell them how much I have in them , I'm slow at making them and can barely keep up , just wondering how you guy;s handle it .
Thnaks Anthony

That almost sounds like a great problem to have, Anthony. :) I'm really glad to see that your work is getting the attention it deserves. Good luck finding an adequate solution.

I put them on the list just like every one else. Being family or close friends doesn't get them to the top of the list any faster.

One of the most difficult things in our "business"...is keeping "family/friendship" and "business" separate. It's amazing how many "friends" you have...when they want something. There may be some hurt feelings in the process, but it's absolutely necessary to let people known that knives are your business....and that business is business, and "friendship" is friendship.....and there is a distinct difference between the two. Very often, whether purposely or not, friends and family will place you in difficult/awkward situations because of what you do.......the best policy is just to be honest and up front with them.

I did give the Mother & Sister in law each a knife.
that's because they both asked upfront how much because they wanted one. I have also given a few seconds where I didn't want to sell them because they had some cosmetic flaw to other family but I don't put my logo on those.

Like Ed stated. Biz is Biz and friends are friends and family is? Well family!

Laurence

www.rhinoknives.com

Anthony I know the feeling,I make my son-in-law a knife every year for Christmas.Everybody else pays cash:biggrin:
Stan