ID? Man made handle material, I don't know what this is.

Burl Source

Forum Owner & Moderator
First of all, I am not a fan of man made handle materials.
This piece of ??? came from the estate of Knife Maker Tedd Dowell.

I don't know if this is something worth cutting up or if it is junk.
I am leaning toward #2. But I figured I had better check before I toss it.

It is hard and heavy. Cuts and sands like a hard, hardwood.
Looking at the edges it looks to be constructed of veneer slices with something like hard epoxy.
The layers are about as thick as a business card.

Any of you guys who were making knives in the 80s know what this is?

bs001_zpsee6bb4e8.jpg

bs002_zps35928617.jpg

Block sanded to 120 grit.
bs003_zpsd5e98b05.jpg

I'm no expert but it looks like Dymondwood. The way I would describe Dymondwood is plywood with the grain all running the same direction. Each layer is dyed a different color. I think it was popular in the 80's

Looks like Dymondwood - also used to be available as pakkawood. - still is very popular. Stable, interesting patterns and colors and VERY inexpensive. Great for new makers because the layers halp to show how well your symmetry is going.

Last edited:
Looks like a homemade laminate. Recently it was in vogue to call such things "Micarta" but fortunately I've seen a pushback against that towards using proper terminology as Micarta not only is a trade name for a specific product but the commercial stuff has a heat and resin processing that's not doable in the home shop. Not that homemade laminate layups don't make workable handle materials, but it's not the same product. With it coming from Ted it likely has some value and probably will finish out OK even if it is a mystery product. Round it over and see what the grain and pattern look like maybe?