forging multiple pieces of "rod"

scherar

Hi,

I am new to the forging part of knife making, but I have a source for some carbon steel (round) bands out of concrete pipe. Is there a way to get pieces of these 'bands' and forge them together? They are about 1/4" to 5/16" in diameter. I have some experience making pattern welded steel, so I was wondering if you could fit them closely together and possibly put some sort of nickel content rods with it and make some sort of Damascus?? I know inclusions are always a concern, so I didn't know if the small gaps when putting the rounds together would pose a problem? Any Ideas??

Thanks

I'm not a pattern welding making at all, but I'd think the biggest concern would be what steel do you have? Is it a mild steel? Something like rebar? OR - is it actually a good steel? I guess you could hammer a piece to a knife shape, then HT and see how it works. Grain size, how hard, etc and go from there.

Ken H>

It should be some sort of high carbon stuff. It is used in pre-stressed 66" concrete water pipe made in the 1960's. when you cut these bands in the concrete, it blows apart. When we've been cutting them with the angle grinder, they put off showering sparks. I'm assuming they are at a spring temper now. I don't know how many varieties of steel there were in the 60's, so that might narrow it down some.

At best it's a crapshoot as to what they are made of. The reason the concrete "blows apart" is due to the tension created as the concrete cured and shrank slightly....where as the rods did not.