coining

Lets see if we can get John Doyle in here....... he does it MUCH better then I can! Maybe he'd be willing to share his knowledge. :) (Hint! Hint!) :)

I'm no expert, but it all starts with a checkering file. 20 lines per inch is the most common size.

Lets see if we can get John Doyle in here....... he does it MUCH better then I can! Maybe he'd be willing to share his knowledge. :) (Hint! Hint!) :)

This is something I'm interested as well, its such an awesome and elegant touch to a knife, it is one of those touches that will push one over the top!
Subscribed!!!
Rex

well i read a while back on how to do it...
I'm about to try it out myself on the next project. i believe i got this from stacey Apelt.
finish grind your spacer to shape, take a scribe and mark the mid points top and bottom, left side and right side. then bisect each midpoint with the scribe to the desired number of spaces you want, just keep bisecting etc... then take a jewelers saw with a number 6 blade and cut slots on each of the marks you scribed. Next open up the slot with a triangle file and then square it up with a warding file, or whatever square/rectangular needle file you have on hand, to the desired dimensions and depth. after you're satisfied with the coining job hit it on the brass whee, then buff and done.

again i have yet to try this but i believe it would yield the best results especially for big bold coining where a checkering file just won't do.
or if ya had a mill, then just use the mill. lol

Last edited: