Cheapest knife handle material to use for experience?

teter09

Hey guys, I'm just starting out and know I'll make lots of knives that aren't worth squat and will be thrown out. I was wondering what handle material is cheapest but will still yield the experience I need to develop those skills? I wasn't sure if micarta or G10 could be found in larger sheets and cut down for cheap, or perhaps just a regular board of any ol' hardwood I can cut down for scales?

Also, another handle material related question.... I had a friend clean out his dads wood shop and sell me some burl pieces he had. Two are 4 inches square and the third is 2 inches thick. They are covered in wax and I wasn't sure about the best way to get that wax off so they can dry. I wasn't sure if I should just scrape it off and sand the sides or try a heat gun to see if I can get the wax to melt or any other suggestions?

When I first started I used red cedar, black walnut and paracord for handles. The wood was free and the paracord was cheap. About any hard wood can be used and even some of the softer wood could be used if stabilized.

I bought some Corion from Ebay when I started. got plenty of it for around $20. you can also ask around some places that work with it and might be able to get scraps cheaper. easy to work, takes a nice polish and looks good when finished.

I still get some scrap from a guitar maker. Give him .50 per set of scales, his trash is my gold. Black ash, cherry, walnut, and curly maple mainly. I also get some hardwood scraps from a cabinet maker, all I can husk away every two months, I made him a skinner out of 1/2 a rasp. Sends me clients too.

Might be time to make him another one...

Teter09,
Like others has said. You can't beat free!
Furniture, Guitar makers, Counter top & wooden floor installers just to name a few all have trash that's big enough for us to use as handles of Wood, Corian etc..