Can this anvil be saved?

Tooln

I'm new here and wasn't really sure where to post this question. Mods please move if needed. I'm just getting started setting up for forging. One of the first items on my list is an anvil. I'm retired so funds are tight. A gal I use to work with has this laying in the shed. I haven't seen anything but the picture. Is it salvagable? My thoughts were to fill the chip with weld and then put a plate over the top. Looking for suggestions. Thanks.

chipped anvil.jpegchipped anvil 2.jpeg

It all depends on what you are willing to accept. Or to say it another way..... If you want to buy nice, fresh oats, you must pay a fair price. However, if you can get by with oats that have already been through a horse.....those come at a cheaper price. :)

With A LOT of work, properly done, that break can be filled/built up with multiple weld passes (like I said, A LOT) but doing so requires a lot of grinding/cleaning, pre and post heating during welding, then grinding/machining/surface grinding to ensure a flat, true face.... then the difficult part.... it would need to be heat treated. IF you want a fully functional, complete anvil.

There are many levels below that, in which it COULD sorta work....but again, what level of repair is dependent on what you can live with. The most important part being the face.... unless it's FLAT, CLEAN, and SMOOTH, it's going to cause more problems then it solves.

My personal opinion/what I would do.... keep looking, that anvil has way more damage then I would be willing to repair. Find a fully intact anvil, that is in the best possible shape, and spend the necessary money to acquire it. Anvils are like a savings account that draws interest..... whether you use them or not, and as long as they are in good shape, they will only increase in value. The most humane thing for that anvil... is to retire it to the scrap yard.