cable damascus question

Jim Coffee

can someone do a tutorial or give me some info on how to make cable damascus. i have a piece of 5/8" cable and would like to try to make a blade from it. thanks for any info

Where I work we have 80 and 100 ton cranes. The cables have to be changed out All the time and throw them in the scrap hopper. I have been thinking about trying it also. I have been doing a little reading on it but I'm not about to give advice. Aerial on here has a tutorial on it.

Im no expert, but Ive done quite a bit of cable over the years.

Here is how I do it.

Cut the cable with a torch, while doing so, melt/braze the cable ends solid

Wear eye protection, Heavy gloves and apron. Clear your work area of all flammables.

1.) Burn off the cable, once burned out, bring to heat and brush very well, then I reheat and tap mine on the side of the anvil. The is usually a LOT of crud in cable, so the more you can get out initially the better.

2.) Start heating, before a scaling heat, flux HEAVILY, flux should be running thru the cable. Once the cable is at a welding heat, I take a good grip on it and fling it to throw out as much flux and gunk as possible (do this carefully!!! Watch for fires!!!) Reflux cable and return to forge.

3.) When cable reaches welding heat remove and twist cable with the lays to tighten it up. Re flux and reheat. Repeat the tightening process until cable feels solid.

NOTE: I reflux at every heat until I am sure the cable is solid

4.) At a welding heat I use the corner created on the step down of the anvil and tap lightly into the corner while rotating the cable. Start at one end and follow the strand lays to tighten up further. Repeat this until the cable feels solid (will also notice a difference in sound)

5.) Once Solid I will forge square (flux if you are not certain its solid) then forge into a flat bar.