buffalo horn handle

CAJones

I have a gentleman wanting me to make him a knife using horn from a water buffalo that he shot for the handle. I have had the blade ready for some time but just this week now have the horn in hand.
Is there enough here to get a handle? :les:
JZwmQ21.jpg

n0IUk8B.jpg

Seriously though, I have very little experience with buffalo horn and zero experience working it from raw form. Any recommendations are most certainly appreciated. The knife is AEB-L and has a 3.5" blade and a 4.5" tang. My plan is to use stainless for a guard and pommel and it has not yet decided if any spacers will be added for other color. Best I can tell without cutting in to the horn is the last 1/3 is solid. Anything I need to know before I start cutting?
Any thoughts, ideas or suggestions are most certainly welcome.
Thank you,
Chris

You MIGHT have enough solid on the "tip" ends to made a hidden tang handle, BUT! From personal experience, I try to discourage it when a client wants buffalo horn for a handle....well, that's not completely true.....I just flat refuse to use it.

To explain, horn is nothing more then compressed hair. If you've ever heard a woman say "I'm having a bad hair day!" Working with buffalo horn is nothing but a "BAD hair day". It "moves" excessivley moreso them most other natural materials, as mentioned it stinks to high heaven when working it, and to get the scratches out of the final finish is a major battle. Then once you THINK your finished with it, and send it off to the client, its going to move, its going to check, and possibly crack. More times then not you will see it again, when the client calls you up complaining that the material has either swollen or shrunk, no longer matching up the guard of pin(s). This situation is accelerated and worsened if it's actually a "using" knife.....exposure to the elements, blood, water, etc, etc.