Bounce this off you if you dont mind....

Lagrange

Recently Terry (KT) and I were talking about knife sheathes and he made the comment that the sheath ought to compliment and not contrast the handle material on a knife.
I've been thinking about that quite a bit since that conversation and have come up with a question.

Can contrast be a compliment?

In my opinion the sheath is just as important as the knife in creating a complete package. My goal as a knife maker and a leather crafter is to create a combination where neither of the two gets lost.

Understand that I am relatively new to both disciplines and I dont hold the skill set that many of you do. This is why I turn to you with these questions.

On another note... how do you determine what style sheath you are going to make? I am speaking strictly outside of customer request of course. If you are making a knife and sheath lets say, for a knife show, where the knife is not sold. You want to present something to perspective customers that says "I am a quality package"...what do you consider when making the sheath?
How many different styles of sheath are there? Can knife sheath design cross traditional usage roles? Maybe that didnt make much sense.

Throw out your ideas and help a brother out.

Eric,
I will give you my 2 cents here.
I am not a leather worker but make a few knives and have designed the look/colors of many sheaths over the years.

I say Yes! Contrast can be complimentary! I wasn't there for this conversation and mean no offense to anyone, but my experience say's you can do what ever you like in the color & contrast department and as far as design goes? I want the most practical style of sheath for the given knife. Pouch, three piece or any combo that you can come up with that works and looks good.

This is one of those times where I say "Rules" are for people without a vivid imagination!

Laurence

www.rhinoknives.com