Belt Sander Recommendation

Picone

I’m very new to knifemaking but I’m having fun. I need a real belt sander with different areas and angles for sanding. Can someone recommend a nice one that will have the HP to quickly grind steel and micarta and have good working table and maybe attachments?

also, recommendations on different belt grits for rough to final would be appreciated.

To the OP, if you'll fill out your profile page to show location it will help LOTS on recommending tools. What might be a good idea here in USA might not be in some other parts of the world. Even state to state can vary.

It sounds like you might be looking for a 2X72" grinder? If so, either building or buying a commercial unit go variable speed for sure.

Look at/for a "good" brand 2x72" machine. Bader, KMG, Burr-King, or any other brand that's been around for a while. Steer clear of the johnny come lately ones..... they will be there today to take your money, but likely gone tomorrow... when you need service/parts/help.

Expect to pay $1,500-$3,000 for a quality grinder. And as Ken said..... spend the money and get a variable speed!! You might not know much about right now, but once you use it, it will amaze you.

Belts: Two things..... buy premium belts, and steer clear of cheap ones..... you'll use twice as many cheap belts as you will the premium belts.
Everybody has their favorite brands and progression of grit sizes.

Personally, as a Bladesmith, I start most of the shaping at the forge. I use a 50 grit ceramic belt for my heavy grit, but also use 120, 220, 400, 600, and 1200 grits. I also have some specialty belts such as cork/abrasive belts, Scothbrite finishing belts, and some belts that are called "open grit" belts.

What is your budget?
I live in Southern CA.
I would like to find something around $1000 to get started, but I could go up to $2k.
thanks for all the input so far. I saw the Bader and it looks really nice...I’m guessing it’s very expensive.