Basic heat treating

Eliminite

I am new to knife making my knives are being cut with a water jet and I'm going to need to be heat treating them. I was considering outsourcing to a heat treating company but it seems like it might not be very cost effective.

has anyone got some friendly advice or any suggestions for doing the same type of method, and are there any suggestions for me?

I am hoping there might be a method or way to make this step as cheap and as professional as possible.

I don't understand at all what you are asking. What "same type of method" are you referring to? Do you want to outsource your heat treatment, or do you want to do it yourself?

need to tell us what steel you are using. basic high carbon steels and some tool steel, like 1084,1095,15N20, and O1, need 1500F and oil to quench in, not too big a deal to do. 440C and other stainless is 1900-2000F with long soaks and tight temperature control, a big deal.
scott

If you think your into this for the long haul, you'll eventually want to get a heat treat oven. New ones run around $1000. If you're sending them to heat treated, just try to send an order big enough to get the price break. For carbon steels, you can try using a torch, going just past non-magnetic and quenching in heated oil. Non very scientific, but many blades are made that way.

To build on what Scott said, cost effectiveness is relative. Simple steel blades can be heat treated with a simple forge that is not all that expensive to build. If you are going to deal with an air hardening, high carbon tool or stainless steel then you will need a heat treating oven. Unless you are good at building things it will cost you the best of $l000 to buy one. Plus you might have to have some rewiring done to be able to plug it in.

Doug

Three suggestions;