Anybody else simply not interested in making sheaths to go along with their knives?

J S Machine

I have been kicking around the knife making thing since about 2007, and I have only made a few knives. I have found that the one thing about a fixed blade knife is that it really isn't complete without a sheath. This problem isn't really there when making folders or pocket "carry" knives.

I know there are many here who actually carry fixed blade knives, but let's be honest..You just don't see it too often. Not in the general public anyway.

I like to approach and make fixed blade knives because they are easy, at least in the respect that they are not as hard as a folder. No moving parts, just a blade and handle. However, I have no interest in learning to make sheaths really. I'd like to be able to do it, but if I do it I want to do it right, and that takes time and patience that I don't really have. That's the simple truth. It has been hard enough for me to continue with making knives and stick with that. Add the element of learning to do sheaths and it gets pats the scope of my interest in the whole "knife making" hobby.

I know there are many makers who make excellent sheaths and also sheath makers. Paul Long made a sheath for a charity knife I made last year and the thing was over the top. I was blown away.

I feel like it would not be profitable to makle knives and then have a sheath maker do the sheaths for every one. Does anybody do this? I understand having a good sheath maker do one for a high end custom or a very special knife, but your regular "production" type knives you sell on a regular basis?? I'm not sure what sheath makers charge, but I'm sure it is enough that it would be more profitable to learn to do it yourself.

Anybody have any thoughts on this?

I do EDC one of my own fixed-blades and I wish more people would. Mainly because I don't make folders (yet) ;)