1095 heat treat?

Hi I'm new to the forum. I've been wanting to try a experiment but don't materials yet and I was wondering if any one has tried or thought using something like pure dish soap to quench in. Any thoughts on how fast quench it would be or if it would be a crash and burn?

I can't say it absolutely would not work..... but it would be less then ideal. The ability to transfer heat away from its source is key to a quenchant. With the amount of water contained in dish soap, and its viscosity, I would expect a lot of boiling and possibly a good amount of splatter. Likely not the best for heat transfer, and even less so for personal safety. :)

Well, I guess I'd ask why or how did that idea even come to you? I'm a newb too, but carbon steels have been being developed and quenched for hundreds of years. I'm not saying there isn't a chance to discover something else that works, but heat treating is tricky enough without mixing unknowns into it. Most of us use canola oil for 1095 or the much more expensive Parks 50. A couple gallons of canola is proven to work and it's pretty darn cheap, not much reason to experiment.

Honestly I probably is a dumb idea. I was just trying to find something faster than canola and easier to obtain than parks 50. I'm sure it's best to stick with what's known but you'll never find anything new if you never try.

Well, I did a little test with transmission fluid once, and I think it was a little faster than canola. That's not a popular oil though, people are afraid of breathing the smoke or fumes from it. Even with canola, I quench near a garage door with plenty of ventilation. That was before I had a hardness tester too, so might be interesting to go back and do it again someday.