Personal carry bowie/fighter- mini WIP...

J. Doyle

Dealer - Purveyor
Little bowie/fighter- mini WIP...

Ok, so this is not a true step by step work in progress but it does show some pictures along the way of how this one is coming together. I'm not very good at remembering to take pictures as I go but maybe this will give a little view into the process.

First, we have the blade forged mostly to shape and still attached to the parent bar.

Then we have the tang and ricasso surface ground and ready for rough grinding.

Here is the blade rough ground.

My makers mark was stamped and the blade is all ready to heat treat.

This is hand sanding after heat treat and before the clip is ground in. You can see some of the hamon in there.

Here is the blade all done, clip ground, sanded and ready to etch.

Two shots of the blade all done and etched ready for the guard and fittings.

And here is where it stands today, guard and fittings in place and to final dimensions.

Now it's off to Claude Scott for some leather then it will come back to me for final handle fitting, embellishments, filework and final finish. I'll keep this updated best I can from here on out. :)

Last edited:
Looking good, looking forward to seeing the finished knife. Did you drive the guard on, or is it glued?

Looking good, looking forward to seeing the finished knife. Did you drive the guard on, or is it glued?

Thanks Brad. The guard is just press fit. Super tight. It has to be driven on and off. And it goes on it one spot only. There's no slop for it to slide up and down. I like to file the slot to be only as long as necessary. Like maybe only a few thousandths more than it needs to be on top and bottom.

Is that the sharpened clip you were talking about?

Yes, Sir, that is THE one. Though I can't recall where I might have mentioned that already? :les: :)

man tht is going to be beautiful.