Grinding jigs

opaul

So I have been free hand grinding for 7 years. Last week I ordered a jig just because. I tried it out yesterday on a smaller blade. I think I like it!
With that said I still think learning freehand is a prerequisite. Makes a great combo skill. Anyone else use a jig?

I've been making knives for 13 years now, Used to be a silver and gold smith making Native Amrican jewelry. I only do stockremoval, no forging and I have used a grinding jig the entire time. I'm pretty good with my hands and it didn't take me very long to figure that a jig would always produce more consistent results than freehand. I hand sand every knife and I come off the jig from a 3M™ Trizact™ CF Cloth Belt 347FC 600 grit belt and can start sanding at 400 grit and finish with 600 grit for a satin finish. I am curious which sanding jig you bought and where you sorced it. I have used several different jigs and find pro and cons with all of them. Always looking to up my game. Thanks,

Wallace

Opaul, as Wallace asked, what jig did you get?

Wallace, which are your favorite jigs?

I've used a few different jigs. The Moen jig is one I like (made one of his old style jigs and it works pretty good). I REALLY admire folks who freehand grind - that's a real talent.

This is the one I got. I had $’s on my Amazon from shopping at Whole Foods so I paid ~$40. I thought it would be a good entry point and not much cash out lay. I’ve only done this blade but I’m looking forward to using it again.
IMG_5398.jpegIMG_5385.jpeg

I use a jig, mainly for speed and accuracy. There are times I have to do a little freehanding to get something to look a certain way. If you have to grind a batch of knives it's definitely easier.

To be honest- when I first started grinding I didn’t think I would ever improve but after many knives it becomes second nature. At one point i think there was a negative vibe about using a grinding jig. I don’t think that’s the case now. It seems lots of makers are using jigs.