You: Need sweet pix, I: Need to practice

J

JMDesigns

A proposition for those of you that want some sweet art shots of your blades. I am a Industrial Design student at a local (AiC) art school. I've been shooting "Art Photography" since I was 15 - close to 17 years now. I have plenty of tasty Nikon DSLR gear, and lots of Photoshop skills.

What I'm looking for right now is the opportunity to get my hands on some grade "A" steel. Just to examine, not to use or even carry. Particular interests include balisongs, combat framelocks, and medium to large fixed blades (but I can work with all of it). If you have any knives you would like to have photographed I am up to the task.

All I am asking is that you pay shipping both ways, and as far as props/backdrops, we get together (pm's/phone) and discuss the look you want, and how that can be achieved. If you have props/backdrops you would like to have included I can certainly do that as well.

I can shoot your knives at 10mp plus and leave the resulting images in virgin RAW, or high quality JPG. I can also do nearly anything in Photoshop that would like, and excel at HDR imagery as well. The PS/HDR work is not necessarily free, but as this community has already gone a long way to help me in my "knife making infancy" I will certainly do all of it for as little as possible.

My main interest in this is to develop my "steel shooting" skills for use in my future projects, and to throw in a bit of help where I can. As a burgeoning knife maker it has also come to my attention that the more steel/designs I can see and learn about the better off I will be in the future. In the same turn the nicer your photos look, the more $$$ you are going to make. ;)