Should I get my LLC??

Guindesigns

Ok right now I'm not making nearly enough knives to say I have a business, as much as I like saying it. I right now can safely say it's a hobby. But not a full fledged business. Should I get my LLC or no. If not how can I sell my knives. I have a Facebook page but I was told that if I sell off that the IRS or the State government can try and shut me down for selling knives and them not getting their piece of the pie. Please I'm worried about getting it and have to pay taxes with me not making enough knives to sell in the first place.Thoughts? Comment?? Advice?

So, I did create an LLC. I'm really a beginner and have only been making knives now for a few years. I just created one at the end of last year. I also got an IRS EIN number, and registered with the state for sales tax purposes. The main reason I did create one was to be able to deduct my expenses for gear and supplies for creating the knives. However, there's a catch with that also. You have to make a profit within the third year. The IRS says that if you are only losing money, it's a hobby, not a business. When I set down and totaled up how much I spent in a year for supplies to get initially set up, I was very surprised at how much I had spent. I then did a schedule C on my 1040 tax return to deduct the expenses. The state of Virginia requires monthly sales tax reports, so stay on top of that or there are penalties involved.