new to knifemaking

bubbyh

Hello everyone. I am new to the crazy knife making world. I have always loved knives since i was a small boy and have recently started to make a few blades. Here are some pics of my first ever. I made it for my wife and she really seemed to like it. ( its on a shelf in our living room! Lol) feel free to critique, good or bad. It is a 1095 steel i heat treated myself. It has california buckeye burl for the handle and a full flat grind. Well, at least my best flat grind i can do as of now lol. One thing im struggling with is the sanding right next to the ricasso. I just ran it up to a 400 grit and stopped as i liked the look there. Any advice at the ricasso area would be greatly appreciated. Thanks and god bless!!

Attachments

• 20150217_012111.jpg
    20150217_012111.jpg
    142.7 KB · Views: 47
  • 20150217_012210.jpg
    20150217_012210.jpg
    142.4 KB · Views: 54
Welcome to KnifeDogs.
Nice first knife. Look forward to seeing more from you.

as for you question, it appears, but I can't be sure that you are sanding the ricasso after you mounted the scales. Sand the blade to exactly the level you want it first. Put the scales on after and you will have just a little glue clean up to deal with.
t

First off, welcome to KD.

Second, it sounds like you attached the scales before sanding the blade. By attaching the scales you make it difficult to sand that small recess in the ricasso area. To eliminate this problem, finish sand the entire blade prior to attaching the scales. It makes the final sanding so much easier in that the ricasso area has easy access because the scales are not attached. I hope this helps you out on the next knife.

DeMo