Kydex Curling!

KCorn

Help! I am new to kydex and have been trying to use .080 kydex to make a sheath. I have tried using an oven, a heat gun and even a skillet with the aid of a non-contact thermometer and have had big trouble with the kydex curling up on itself like a newspaper. I have tried heating it slowly and evenly but no matter what I try it curls. I have placed a flat object on it on the skillet and that works well until you start to try to get it in the press laid flat. By the time I wrestle it into the press and get it flat I'm sure it cools quite a bit and reduces the ability to get a good print. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

I'm just starting with Kydex myself so will be watching this thread. Good luck - the couple of sheaths I've made with .060" have not curled yet. I did allow one to overheat on the hotplate eye when I forgot for a couple of extra minutes.

Ken H><

You may be overheating it. I put mine in a pizza oven with a glass door,I pre heat the oven to 350 deg.F,lay the kydex on the wire rack and then watch it through the glass door,when it starts to think about curling I take it out and press it. I think curling is the stage just before shrinking.

Thanks Calvin. Ill give that another try tonight. Do you think Kydex and Boltoron from USAKnifemakers reacts the same and requires the same temps?

One Kydex tutorial I read suggested the actual temperature wasn't as important as just watching/checking kydex during heating process. Once it gets about where a slice of cheese is in flexible/pliable, then move to press. The Kydex I've done this works pretty good - just lay on hotplate eye, keep an eye on it (don't forget like I did), and it really works.

Ken H>

Kydex and Boltaron are two different materials having different (but close) working temperatures.
Boltaron will curl up if overheated. Kydex tends curl less but deform a bit if overheated.