John Wilson knife review!

Smallshop

KNIFE MAKER
Yesterday I received john's KITH knife in the mail. (it may have been at the Post Office for a few days....We don't have mailboxes in town)
I am only putting up one photo as I am just learning how to take knife photos and mine are not up to showing off this knife properly.

IMG_0096.JPG

The knife was packaged well...came in a nifty little "fur" lined case with bubble wrap in the box to take up "rattle". when I unzipped the little case...my wife , son, and I all said, 'WOW!" at the same time. Yes it is a beautiful little knife.

The handle is 3.5 inches long, the blade is 2.6 from handle to tip. There is a slight dovetail at each bolster to hold the handle in place. The wood is Australian Myrtle...I think perhaps stabilized? If not it is very hard and not porous at all. The color is beautiful and at least my pic shows that correctly. What it doesn't show is the subtle burl style grain and the depth of it. Even though this is a satin finish it shows grain very well.

that satin finish is played out on the entire knife. All the pieces have a very smooth satin finish....very subtle and muted and classy. The edge breaks are perfect for this size knife...any bigger would deter from the crisp clean look...any smaller would feel too sharp. Nailed it on that.

The handle does have a varying radius on the edge where the swell is (once again very subtle) the radius increases just a bit at the belly and the back and so maintains the "line" at the bottom of the edge breaks from from to rear of the handle. Exactly how it should be.

This model knife is a slip joint "whittler"...when I first read that I immediately though of an old slip joint I had (once upon a time as a boy) That I closed on my finger...whittling. I thought, "I hope this little knife of John's has a nice firm spring...." Yep...you are not going to worry about this blade closing on you even in heavy use.