Hi all.

Austin Thrasher

I am a part time maker. I’ve done a few small and local shows just trying to get my name out there. I am a machinist by trade and currently work in a die shop repairing and making stamping dies. My knives are starting to look halfway decent and I am constantly striving to make each blade just a little better than the last. I hail from rural Southern Indiana and grew up in a little farm outside of town where nearly every waking moment other than work or school was spent outdoors enjoying life in some capacity or another. I would say my love for cutting tools stems from my personal enjoyment of hunting, fishing, and camping and the need for a quality blade in everything I do outdoors. My first attempt at a blade came about when I found a piece of scrap steel in the woods and decided to try to make a knife on dads old hard wheel grinder. My desire grew from there and when I decided I’d had enough of all the cheap, China made knives that were always dulling or breaking way to quickly, I started researching how to make my own. My grandpa always told me that I couldn’t be a real man unless I carried a pocket knife and a ball point pen because a man needed both every day. Well, I’ve always got the knife and most of the time the pen. I hope that at least classifies me to be half a “real” man in Papaws eyes haha!
Anyway, glad to be here.94A44E22-D8D6-4244-8D76-CD34D03F2E30.jpeg

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum, Austin. There's some really great people here. It's nice to have you with us.

Welcome to KD. Post up pictures of your knives and ask as many questions as you wish. This site is a pretty friendly place.

Welcome Austin. While it don't bother me a bit. Pics that contain blood are now days a great way to destroy a man's business the do-gooders of the world band together and the next thing you know no one is calling, emailing, and you are ostracized to coldest part of Siberia or something like that!