Grinding Belts... which ones to buy??

V

valcas1

Okay,

I have posted a progress thread on my firts knives I am making with my son. so I am completely new to this game. when I bought my Wilton 2x72 grinder it cam from a Kodak Corp tool room. With the grinder I got several boxes of Norton AO belt in 60x and 120x. This is what I have been using for this project.

I feel it is time to buy some new belts because I want my son to be proud of the knive we turn out.

What is everyone using for belts? It is actually a bit daunting when you no nothing. unsure

I figure I need to tkae it from where I am at 120 grit. to the finished stage. It is ok to speak to me like a school child on this subject, i will not be offended. Assume I know nothing.

What are the different flex in belts? Which ones will wrap around the platen and which will not?. I am hoping that if I select the right belts it will make cleaning up the plunge cuts easier. huh1

What grit do you take your blade to on the grinder post heat treat? Before the fun of hand sanding starts?

I think that covers the questions for now.

Just so everyone knows. I am using 1095 for these two blades and have a chopper of sorts in the works made of 5160.

WOW!! That was a lot of typing.

Thank you all again for dealing with these simple questions. Your help makes the learning curve much smaller.

Paul

Ok this is the progression I go trough with grinder belts.

36g or 60g norton hogger to knock off scale and rough grind (forged blades) or stock I would guess
then to the 120g J-flex (klingspor) for refining the shape and getting rid of the deep scratches left by the coarse belts.
Then I use a 220g (J-flex klingspor) to get rid of those marks left by the 120g and the 60g.
After that its off to the HT oven. and I come back and hit it with a 400g J-flex then off to hand sand.

Last edited: