First knife post

Hello everyone,
This is my first post. I wanted to share my first machete. I have previously made two smaller knives, but nothing this big. The machete is made from .140 thick 1084 steel. I did my best to give it a hammered/ natural finish. However, I do not have the proper tools for that yet (hammer and anvil). The handle is made from Sapele, which is similar to Mahogany. I would value your feedback, good or bad. Thanks for looking!

MikeMachete 1.jpgMachete 2.jpg

I'm new to this myself but I can tell you it's actually quite impressive. The blade shape is really good for a machete although you may want to push the grind slightly higher. Also a swell at the butt of the handle is good on a machete that you will be swinging around a lot. Other than that its a very good knife. Some people like low grinds like that as well. It's a lot better than my first to say the least.

Mike,
Very nice work! Everything about it looks nicely done, the ONLY thing I see that gives me any
type of doubt or question is that the handle ``LOOKS`` like it might be too round. A round
handle on a chopping blade with drive you NUTS! Have you done any testing with it yet? If so did you
notice the handle having a tendency to spin in your hand? If you haven`t done any testing, get to cutting on some stuff! Of course you will want to BLAZE a trail through the woods chopping everything smaller than a 50year old Oak tree! But do test it on some for finer type cuts as well, the more you know about the things your knife is capable of the better offer it will serve you, I guess I mean know the limitations that it may have. Knowing these things will not only help you take care of this knife, but also TEACH you some of the things that are important to you on your NEXT knife! One more HUGE piece of advice, KEEP THIS KNIFE! You will make many knives,