Does the where you buy your blade steel matter

I'm new to knife making and for some upcoming projects wanted to use 440c for a new hunting knife is 440c from one place better than another

a couple of things to look at when buying:
what is the condition of the steel? hot rolled, cold rolled, cross rolled, precision ground, decarb free, annealed?
a piece that is annealed and precision ground may cost more to start, but will take less work to make into a finished blade. some members here have commented on buying discount steel that ended up costing more when they figured in the time and belts need to remove scale and slag.
will the seller provide a copy of the composition report that came with the steel that will detail where it was made and the chemical composition of the batch?

Don't worry about a few dollars here or there. You can buy 440C from USA Knife Makers/Midwest and be secure knowing that it's fine.
I buy "Shear cut rough ground". To me, its the best balance of prepared steel and cost.