Breaking the rules with better results heat treating 5160

mtemen

I am making knives with 5160 and haven't been consistently successful at getting 60+ HRC after the quench. I have triple Normalized 1650,1550,1450 10 minutes each, then 1475 for 15 minutes and quench in 130 deg Canola oil. AVG HRC pre temper has been 58. Then I tried something different and I skipped the Normalizing and went directly to HT at 1600 for 15 minutes (Put the blade in a hot oven at 1600 for 15 mins) and quench in 130 deg Canola oil and got HRC 62.

I am new to this so what have I given up to get this hardness? What is going on with my grain growth?

Thx M

I would not get to hung up on numbers. Make some test knives using the 2 different heat treats and abuse them to destruction. Every steel performs differently at a given hardness. The only way to tell what gives you the best performance is through testing.

1475°F is too low for 5160 even without the normalizing, especially in the lower ranges, will pull carbon further out of solution and give much more decarb. The target temperature for 5160 is 1525°F, but the most you should expect with its carbon level is around 62 HRC. I would double check your grain size at 1600°F, it is quite high and larger grains will increase hardenability.

I would not get to hung up on numbers. Make some test knives using the 2 different heat treats and abuse them to destruction. Every steel performs differently at a given hardness. The only way to tell what gives you the best performance is through testing.

This is my solution too BUT Kevin is the steel guru and KNOWS his business so either if these will get you results, though admittantly, Kevin’s will be faster I just enjoy testing my knives so testing results are MY indicator of success.

Thanks everyone for weighing in. I guess i need to snap a knife and look at the grain size. Not sure I really know what I'm looking at but I'll post a picture and maybe someone can comment. Standby...