Uri Hofi's forging style, is it worth learning.

busted knuckles

Hi guys, I've been doing my research on hammers and came across Uri Hofi. He claims to have an ergonomic forging method. Is anyone here familiar with this method, is it worth buying his DVD to learn.
While I've been doing some forging, mostly mokume, I'm still new to forging steel. I've been a carpenter for many years and I understand that a proper hammer technique is important to master. I also understand that most people develop what works for them.
Would you recommend developing my own style or modeling my style after someone like Uri.
Thanks.

I recently watched a full-time professional blacksmith forging a blade using what he described as the "Hoffi" method. It looked awkward to me, but did look like it would be easier on the elbow and shoulder. It was totally different than the way I swing a hammer, whether I'm forging or driving a nail (I'm certainly no expert, though). He kept his hammer hand directly under his shoulder, so that he looked to be pulling up his hammer and pushing it back down, rather than swinging it. I'm not sure if that's the way Uri Hoffi teaches, only that this smith claimed he learned it from Uri Hoffi. I do know that he forges more everyday with a handheld hammer than I do in a year, so it must work pretty well for him. He could sure move the steel where he wanted it in the short time I watched him.

I teach the European style of hammer and anvil use. If you understand it you will see that it really is an improvment. Uri has actually taken Alfred Habberman's style and expanded it into his own style. Uri was here in the States a number of times teaching this style. Tom Clark brought him over and then started making his style hammer and teaching the method. Tsur Sadan and Amet Harlev have been over a number of times also. Big Blu (www.bigbluhammer.com) sells this style hammer (as do a number of others) and have tapes.