Old dog. New trick.

Dennis Morland

KNIFE MAKER
I have been making knives for around 10 years. The learning curve never stops growing. Mike Miller sent me these abrasive sticks and told me to use them instead of sand paper when hand sanding pre-heat treat. Especially the plunge line. AMAZING!! One third the time and no hand pain. Thank you Michael Miller.

A7-FA398-F-29-C6-4884-A36-D-422-BC5830-B6-E.jpg

54216-E9-A-E50-C-4201-A340-60-A534-B90-FC2.jpg

What are the dimensions of the stones? Are they strong enough to use alone, or do you need a backer bar to keep from breaking the stones?

Like Bob, I'm more interested in using them post heat treat. I'm on the Boride site now looking at the CS-HD (General Purpose Silicon Carbide for polishing up to 63HRC).

Those are on my list to get.

I bought diamond stones - electroplated from Amazon - up to 2000, for finishing but they didn't give the look I wanted. I went back to 600 sandpaper finish for now.

What are the dimensions of the stones? Are they strong enough to use alone, or do you need a backer bar to keep from breaking the stones?

Like Bob, I'm more interested in using them post heat treat. I'm on the Boride site now looking at the CS-HD (General Purpose Silicon Carbide for polishing up to 63HRC).

I think I have the kit AM-2. Stones are 6x1/2x1/8.

I used some other EDM stones post HT on Magnacut. 400 grit EDM stone took about 10 minutes on a 4" blade drop point over 1" wide to get a nice 400 finish on one side, only using the 400 stone and going from a 320 belt finish that had deep scratches left over from 36 and 80 grit belts.

I mainly use them post heat treat. You can really find out how the grit marks are camouflaged when you hit them with the 220 git. I have even taken them to 1200 grit with the stones. I use them with an oil and it seems to help removing when it is a slurry.
I can thank Jerry McClure for showing this old dog this trick.