New to knifemaking

Budkitc

Hello all
I am new to knife making and I'm looking for ideas and on where to start. Should I start with a starter kit or just start off by scratch or start off with a wooden knife. Just looking for tips.
Thank you.
Doug

Welcome aboard!
Any of the avenues you suggested will work. Personally my first knife was a kit. But you will learn more making one from scratch.

Howdy.

Just depends on what you're leaning toward and what you have to work with. Putting a handle on a blank doesn't take much more than a drill, files and sandpaper.

A great and cheap way to start is to recondition some old knives. Start by learning how to sand the rust off and make an old knife pretty again. Then make a new handle for it. Like tkroenlein says you can do all of this with sandpaper and elbow grease. For making a new handle you might need a drill press. You'll need that eventually, anyway if you don't already have one.

For sandpaper you want to use automotive sandpaper. (wet / dry sandpaper). You don't need a whole lot of it. When I started I would go to the auto parts store and buy my sandpaper. They have it in the paint section. Some 220, 320, 600 will get you started. A piece of plate glass is great for a flat surface for your sandpaper. Wet the glass and lay your paper on there. It works great for sharpening, too.

and WELCOME to KD!

Welcome to Knife Dogs!! John gave you some good advice. I would add, read, read, read. Lots of information out there if you dig a little. Look up Walter Sorrels and Ekim knives on YouTube. They have some really good videos that helped me a lot when I first started.

If you share your location you may find a maker here that is willing to let you visit their shop or a group you can join to learn in person.

Welcome to Knifedogs.
I will add the following. Go and have a look at the Tutorials and WIP's listed under this link:
When I started off making knives, I read all I could find on the topic of making a first knife.