Hi from Northern Texas

colbysmt

Hi all. I have been addicted to this forum for a couple weeks, looking at all of the awesome knives y'all have been making and reading so much useful information. I am just getting started making knives. My father in law has made a few rustic knives, in a coal forge, with antler handles (not really my style, but very cool). I have a few knives in the works, but none "finished". I'm just experimenting right now to decide what type of knife I prefer to make and what techniques to use. I am in the process of building a propane forge and shopping for a belt grinder. I have a 4 x 106 wet belt sander, but haven't had much luck with it yet. Planning to sell it and get a 2 x 72 or rob parts off it to build one better suited for knifemaking. Anyway, just wanted to say thanks for the awesome website, and I'm amazed how friendly and supportive y'all are with eachother. I can't wait to post a few pictures of finished knives!

Colby Smith

Attachments

• IMG_0055[1].jpg
    IMG_0055[1].jpg
    132.5 KB · Views: 15
  • IMG_0083[1].jpg
    IMG_0083[1].jpg
    52.9 KB · Views: 17
  • IMG_0080[1].jpg
    IMG_0080[1].jpg
    84.4 KB · Views: 16
  • IMG_0078[1].jpg
    IMG_0078[1].jpg
    72.1 KB · Views: 17
  • IMG_0067[1].jpg
    IMG_0067[1].jpg
    74.5 KB · Views: 16
Well welcome to the pound. Forging to me is the way to go. Check out the American Bladesmith's Society YouTube channel for some great info after you finish looking at all the info in the WIP section here.