Hello, I'm getting ready for my first show

jspake

hello!

although i have been following these boards for now for a couple of years and posting bits and pieces here and there, now seems like a great time to finally introduce myself. every few weeks i have had the thought to post an intro here, and i just put it off thinking "i'll wait until i'm done with THIS ONE, then i'll do it"... what can i say, i'm a procrastinator. i am a hobbyist/part time knife maker who more or less decided one day that i wanted to try making a knife. it was really rewarding, so i kept doing it! the first dozen or so knives i made using scandi blades that i purchased from brisa (actually my very first knife was completely hand made, but the heat treat is shaky at best), and mainly focused on construction, fit and finish. then i moved on to some stock removal blades after buying a KMG grinder, and now i am starting to branch out into forged blades as well. last year i did a class with murray carter, which was incredibly informative and inspiring. i owe him a great debt of gratitude for his guidance over the last year or so since we met.

i've spent the last few months preparing for the OKCA show in eugene, or, and i'm packing up tonight to make a go of it this weekend. i'm really looking forward to getting a public response from my work, and getting brutal critiques from pros and real collectors. i have meant to post images on the board here as i go, but i just have not made the time to do it... anyway, my table is R07, so if you are at the show please come by and say hi!

i just snapped a quick shot of the batch/es i've been working on. 10 of these will be at the show this weekend.

-jeremy

Attachments

• OKCA.jpg
    OKCA.jpg
    58.4 KB · Views: 26
You will learn a lot at the show by displaying your knives.