Guthook and bolster help please.

Surthriver

I had a family friend from Tennessee call me yesterday and asked me to make him a knife for deer season that had a guthook blade on it. Has anybody done this before that could give me some tips on how to go about doing it?

Also on this knife I want to do a handle with bolsters. Since I’m still really new at this, I’ve never done bolsters before. What material is the best for bolsters. Stainless? Wood? I have a nice little stash of Cocobolo at the house that I think would look really good with bright and shiny stainless bolsters. Is it ok to put bolsters on with the pins showing? Could someone please explain this process for me? Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

416 SS is a pretty popular metal for bolsters and guards, but boy that stuff is heavy! I used 416SS for a guard/bolster on the wife's chef knife and it added a good bit of weight. She preferred the aluminum I used on another knife because it wasn't heavy. Either aluminum or SS will look good with a brushed or mirror polish job, but the aluminum will show scratches, marks, etc faster than the SS.

Brass really looks nice with a nice mirror polish, but it's also a soft metal so will show scratches. Brass or aluminum seems to be a bit easier to work than SS, but 416 SS is amazing how easy it works to be SS.

Pins? Well, that depends. Normally the pins should match the metal so when sanded out, they virtually disappear, but the wife fusses unless I use brass pins on her handles 'n bolsters. She thinks that brass is so pretty.

I would either go for pins exactly same metal as bolster so they disappear, OR go for a full contrast metal for the pins. I personally think a mirror finish on brass is about the prettiest around - but that's just me.