Christmas Hamon!

Delta Handmade Knives

Merry Christmas Everyone! I hope everyone is having a healthy and peaceful Holiday. –

This year for Christmas I gave myself my very first Heat Treat which also happens to be my first Hamon.

I clayed-up two W-2 blade blanks with Rutland's Furnace Cement and this is how they came out. Please bear in mind that I have no idea what I am doing. I am new to knife making and I had no clue if this would work or not but after watching about 150hrs. of YouTube hamon videos I had to give it a shot. There is still a lot of work to do on these two blades but seeing this my first time around gives me a lot of hope for what may be possible going forward.

Too excited.. had to share.

Blade A - Right side
IMG_9816.jpeg

Blade A - Left Side
IMG_9815.jpeg

Blade B - Left side
FirstHamon.jpg

I will follow up with more progress pictures as these move forward in the process. Still a lot of work to do.

Thank you for looking and have a Merry Christmas!!

Nice job! Turned out great.

I grew up in Escanaba. My folks and sister still live there. I miss the Lake.
Thank you!

But don't underestimate my ability to screw this up still. A bit more to go before it is a knife. With luck one of these two might make it there.

My wife and I love the lake and the small town life. I love small town traffic. oh so nice! As you could imagine I lived in big cities previously so I appreciate these little things.

Thank you gentlemen. I have been making sheaths for a couple of years now so I know my way around that block. Just now getting into knife making as of the last few months. Looking forward to many more!

Thank you Sean Jones and Opaul! Much appreciated.

Maker's mark supplies have been ordered and I will soon be able to add my mark to it. Also, the next two blades is already clayed up and ready for heat treat.

Thank you Daniel!

Happy New Year everyone!