Burnishing 3-4 layer edges

KentuckyFisherman

I'm having trouble with a sheath that has four layers of leather. I trimmed the outside edges to match as closely as I'm able with an X-acto blade. Then I went to my belt sander and a used 120-grit belt to further smooth that edge. Visually and to the touch, I thought I had the edge sanded great, with all the layers hard to even spot. THEN I go to the Tokonole and burnishing tool. It didn't take long for me to realize that the layers were smooth only because they had filled in with "leather powder." The Tokonole caused the powder to compact down, leaving little gaps between some of the layers, mostly an eighth of an inch here and there. Eighty to 90% of the edge looks good, but the little gaps spoil the effect.

I've been doing leatherwork for 2-3 years and to get my work to the next level, I have to figure out this edge burnishing problem. I realize one option would be to call "Full stop" and go back to the sander. But that's going to mean an awful lot of sanding to eliminate just a few small gaps. Is there some kind of putty or something I can fill those cracks with? Maybe mix some of the leather sanding powder with wood glue and pack it into those cracks, overfilling and then sanding it down. Kind of like fixing a crack in drywall. Would that "patching paste" take dye or stand out as a repair? Or would that "patch" just fall out as the leather flexed or swelled or dried out.

Any ideas are welcome and I thank you in advance.

I sand with an 80 grit belt then use an edger for the corners. I dampen the leather then rub with saddle soap to smooth , next a hard plastic piece to rub to smooth.
Thanks, Mike. But after you burnish, what if you have little gaps here and there between the layers? Maybe you don't get those.