building a forge; questions, scavaging, etc.

malignity

I'm looking into building my first forge, and am trying to collect my materials.

So far, I've got 24"x16"x1" ceramic wool insulation from Ebay, rated at 2600 degrees. I can't remember which brand. I think they're all about the same.

Ideally, I'd like my inner dimensions to be about 14" long, 6" diameter or so.

What I had planned on doing, was getting a circular base (not sure what size, not sure how to calculate that) do 2 layers of ceramic wool, a layer of refractory cement (pourable or some sort of motar) an inch or two thick, then plistix.

Rear will be closed off with fire brick.

I'm thinking I was going to do 2 burners. I want to be able to get welding heat, and I'm not sure I can achieve that with one burner.

Any thoughts or suggestions? Any ideas on what would make a good base for this? Maybe an old propane tank?

I'm new to this stuff. I've made 3 knives thus far, but used pre-hardened steel, and LOTS of time to keep temperatures down not to ruin the temper. I'd love to just soften it up, work it to my liking, then reharden and temper. Working with hardened steel wreaks havoc on my tools. Went through 12 dremel bits on my current knife.

I've got 24"x16"x1" ceramic wool insulation from Ebay, rated at 2600 degrees. I can't remember which brand. I think they're all about the same.

I agree....brands really don't make a difference. What does is the density..... you didn't mention it, but personally I only use #8 density.

I'd like my inner dimensions to be about 14" long, 6" diameter or so.