Are Mora tangs already annealed?

Joseph

Will be peening the the tang of a Mora laminated steel blade pretty soon and am wondering if they are soft enough as-is or if it should be annealed?

I am not a expert on the premade Mora blades but my guess would be that the tangs are annealed.
You can always give it a few taps with a hammer on the side and see how the steel moves? If not, to play it safe put wet clay around the blade and just heat up about 3/4" of the tang up to cherry red and and let it cool slowly in sand or vemiculite.

Laurence

www.rhinoknives.com

The heat sink that I use for drawing a tang so that I can drill it is to stick it in a can of wet sand before heating the tang with a torch. Of course you can just get a carbide bit and drill slowly.

Doug

Thanks guys.

Can one over-anneal? (i.e. if it is already annealed and I do it again?)

The tang is only about 1/8" x 1/8" x 1".

You can over draw the temper but annealed is pretty much annealed. With the tang that short I think that I would be more comfortable with getting a carbide bit and not change the temper. Jantz carries carbide bits. Carbide Connection, Congress Tools, and MSC Direct are other sources. Use a spade bit and keep the speed of your drill low. My feeling is that the tang was hardened and tempered along with the blade. With that short of a tang you will probably need all the strength you can get rather than toughness that comes with a softer steel. In short, the heat treatment given to the tang was meant to work with the short length.

Doug

I don't think he's drilling the tang, I think he's just peening the end?

You could probalby just try skating a file off of it, and if it grabs and starts cutting, then you should be ok to peen.

I'm sorry, I'm new to this, so my description might not have been 100%, but it isn't the type of blade you drill into, but rather the kind you put a metallic end-cap on and beat the end of the tang into a mushroom (with a ball-peen hammer).