Wrought iron ??

C Craft

I am about to use some wrought for the guard and ferule on a knife I am working on. I happen to have some wrought that will be about the right size for making the pieces. I figure I will have to do some reduction of material to shape it like I want!

So here is the question. Will it change how the pieces look to be forged close to size and then do the reduction of materials to finish it into what I need??

Or would it change the look of the wrought, to just do reduction of material from the start!!

At this point I am not sure how much I can gain by forging to a point and then doing the reduction of material to finish shape. I have little forge experience as most of my knives are reduction! As well I have never forged wrought and I am little worried about destroying the wrought trying to forge it!! I have been forewarned that this wrought is hard to forge!

I guess what I am asking is if I do reduction from the start, once etched will it look different than if I had forged it!! I hope I am getting my point across here and not just sounding like I am rambling!!!

Wow, not one response! Perhaps I need to re-word this. In short does forging change the look of wrought?? Or does it look pretty much the same, whether it is forged or using a reduction method to achieve the final results???

In short, yes. The more you forge wrought iron, the less the grain stands out. If its flat bar and close to final dimensions, I would grind it. It its round bar , forge it flat and cut/grind it to final dimensions.
Having said that, people forge it all the time but in my experience, the less you forge it, the better it looks when finished because I like to see the coarse grain. Some people like the look of the finer grain and if that's what you like then there is nothing wrong with that.
Can't wait to see what you come up with.