Working on Photos

Robert Dark

Trying out my new camera and photo software. Better than what you have seen from me before???? (or not)

Testweb.jpg

Robert

I can't tell if it is a hand rubbed finish on the blade or it is polished. I think it is a little too white in there or something. Apart from that looks good.

Blade is a tad bit hot, hence the wash out. Otherwise it looks really good.

Charlie

Agree with the two above. I like the photos on your website better,
and I really do like your knives btw.
Dozier

Thanks for the feedback guys. Its hard not to wash-out a blade without making the handle material look too dark.

Back to the drawing board.

Robert

Robert,

I am not a photo expert (as is obvious from the photos in my gallery) but these are my humble recommendations:

-Try putting some light source or reflective material in the front of your light box. It will help tone down the distracting shadows around the bottom edges of your knife. Raising your knife slightly off the background surface can also help... a piece of hidden modeling clay or something visually interesting (but not distracting) to lean against can help.

-To help tone down the blade a bit, you can use a black reflector. This can also help bring out hamon activity in differentially heat-treated knives. I use a strip of black foam-core board approximately 6" wide by 24" long. Gripping the narrow edge of the strip, I'll hold the black reflector above the blade such that I can see it reflected in the blade when viewed through the camera's viewfinder. I don't us this trick all the time... but it is helpful on occasion.

Erin

Last edited:
Robert,

I am not a photo expert (as is obvious from the photos in my gallery) but these are my humble recommendations: