Which Grinder to buy?

jwood

I've been making knives for several years and finally built a 2x72, all out of wood even turned the wheels, and it works well but not great. For the $60 I have in it it's way better than my 1x30. I currently have $400 and am looking at an entry line, production grinder for stock removal, mostly flat and saber grinds. I've narrowed it down to three grinders:
Grizzly - $495 + shipping
Coote 2x6x72 - $447 + shipping
Polar Bear Forge Flat SLING grinder kit - $115 + shipping + hardware + wheels

Now I currently have a 1hp Craftsman motor so the motor isn't an issue for the Coote or Sling grinder. However the sling grinder doesn't have a work rest, easy enough fix for the price; but is it rigid enough to hog off steel?
What are yalls thoughts?

I have a coote and a friend has the grizzly. Of the two I'd take the coote with step pulleys. I haven't tried the sling. Can you add a contact wheel to it? Or even a small wheel holder? If you can and it's more cost effective with add-ons and you don't mind putting it together it may be comperable to the coote. Another option is just building your own 3 wheel with steel or aluminum.

Go for the Coote! I purchased one of the 2 x 72 x 8" almost 20 years ago and it still works great. You can get rolling with Step pulleys and move up to a Variable later when you have the funds. That's what i did.

Also you can use darn near any motor of a 1 HP or larger. I found an open non TEFC 2 HP 1750 RPM for like $40.00 Worked great, just don't get it wet.

Or check out the DVD at my Grinders page on my web-site and build your Moe's Grinder.

Let me know if I can help.

Thanks for all the advice! I think I've decided on the Coote. Assuming I should get it with the ceramic platen liner?