Rockwell hardness tester

Gliden07

I have a chance to get one of these for a couple hundred dollars. It' a Wilson 3c I believe the gent said. Are they worth the investment?? Keep in mind I'm just a serious hobbyist. Don' know if I really need it. What say you guys??

Last edited:
I have a chance to get one of these for a couple hundred dollars. It' a Wilson 3c I believe the gent said. Are they worth the investment?? Keep in mind I'm just a serious hobbyist. Don' know if I really need it. What say you guys??
I say that if I had your money, I’d throw mine away... lol. I would definitely get it. The main reason that I use Peters HT is that I “know” the hardness when I get it back. There is no guessing. I also like the fact that I can tell a possible customer that the blade hardness has actually been tested.
I must add, though, that I have no idea what the upkeep is on these machines or the reliability of the results. I’m sure a more educated person will be along soon to shed some light on this issue.

I am not familiar with the 2C unit, but I got a similar deal on my Wilson and I consider it one of the best deals I ever made. The Wilson testers are top of the line and you won't touch one for that price, even used, on the open market. Not only are they very reliable in quality, they are also common enough to be the easiest to get parts and service for, and there will always be demand for them should you want to resell them.

I am not familiar with the 2C unit, but I got a similar deal on my Wilson and I consider it one of the best deals I ever made. The Wilson testers are top of the line and you won't touch one for that price, even used, on the open market. Not only are they very reliable in quality, they are also common enough to be the easiest to get parts and service for, and there will always be demand for them should you want to resell them.